Business Personal Property
Business Personal Property is the furniture, fixtures and equipment used to operate your business.
There are two types of Business Personal Property Returns:
I. County Filer: Form requires Business Personal Property Return.
Business Personal Property Return: You file this return through The Richland County Auditor’s Office. This form pertains to businesses tied to professional or service type businesses. The taxpayer must file a return on or before April 30th of each year you own the business. Contact number (803) 576-2620 or 576-2621.
Penalties-When a business fails to file a return by the due date it can result in late fees and penalties.
Appealing Period- Claims for credits or refunds must be filed within three years from the time the return was filed or two years from when the tax was due, whichever is later.
To determine what category you must file under, check the list below:
County-Business Personal Property Return:
Credit Agencies other than Banks
Security & Commodity Brokers, Dealers, Exchanges, and Services
Insurance Agents, Brokers, and Service
Real Estate Companies/Agents
Combination of Real Estate, Insurance, Loans, Law Offices
Hotels, Rooming Houses, Camps, and other Lodging Places
Museums, Art Galleries, Botanical and Zoological Gardens
II. State Filer (DOR) form require PT-100
PT-100: You file this form through the Department Of Revenue. This form pertains to businesses collecting sales tax or miscellaneous retail. Please note for this type of return, any business which opens after the end of the accounting period must file an initial return as of December 31st with the return being due the last day of April. After the initial return, businesses are required to file on or before the last day of the fourth month after the close of the accounting period regularly employed by the taxpayer, for income tax purposes. Contact number (803) 898-5222.
To determine what category you must file under, check the list below:
PT-100 File with DOR (State)
Wholesale Trade Companies (Division F)
Non Durable Goods
Retail Trades (Division G)
Hardware/Garden Supply Stores
Mobile Homes Dealers
Auto Dealers and Gas Stations
Apparel and Accessory Stores
Furniture/Home Furnishing Stores
Eating and Drinking Establishments
Taxes on all motor vehicles are paid one year in advance. Taxes are calculated based on multiplying the assessed value time the millage rate. On personal vehicles the assessment is base on 6% of the fair market value; on vehicles that are used in a business the assessment is base on 10.5% fair market value.
Trucks with empty weight of 9000 pounds or gross weight that is 11000 pound would be assessed at 10.5%. For more information please call the Auditor’s Office.
On a truck with the gross weight over 26,000 pounds contact the Motor Carrier Division at the South Carolina Department of Revenue (SCDOR). The Auditor’s Office will bill you for road fee only.
If you are registering your vehicle for the first time in South Carolina, if you are moving here from out of state or if you purchased a vehicle you have 45 days to register your vehicle. To have a bill created you must provide the Auditor’s Office with a title or a Bill of Sale. You can fax it, scan it to firstname.lastname@example.org or take it into the Auditor’s Office. If you purchased your vehicle from a dealer the dealer will register the vehicle for you, and the Auditor’s Office will send you a bill in the mail and you will have 120 days to pay your tax bill.
If you moved to Richland County from another county in South Carolina you must change your address at the Department of Motor Vehicles (DMV) . If you have changed your address at DMV within 90 days of your tag's expiration date you need to send the Richland County Auditor's Office a copy of your registration with the correct address by mail, fax, e-mail or in person so that a tax notice can be created for your tag renewal.
If you sold your vehicle, moved out of state or if your insurance was canceled you are required to turn your tag in immediately to the Department of Motor Vehicle (DMV) or you will be charged a fee per day by DMV.
If you sold your vehicle or moved out of state before your tag expires, you may qualify for a refund. To qualify for the refund the following documents are required.
Out of State Refund
Copy of out of state registration card and S.C. license plate or Form 5051 verifying the S.C. license plate had been turned in to the DMV. Mail to: P.O. Box 192, Columbia, SC 29202.
In State Refund
Copy of the Bill of Sale or the front and back of title and, Form 5051 verifying vehicle license plate has been turned into the DMV. If the license plate had been transferred no refund applies.
For more information please call (803) 576-2600.
Application for (Vehicle) Exemption
Application for High Mileage
High Mileage Chart
Personal Vehicle Tax Estimator
Application for Vehicle Tax Notice
Bill of Sale
Vehicle Change of Address
Notice of Vehicle Sold Form
Report an Out of State Tag
Boats and Motors (Watercraft), Motor Homes, and Campers
Property tax on boats and motors is taxable to the owner of record as of December 31 of the preceding year. If the boat or motor is disposed of during the tax year, the taxpayer is still liable for the tax. To prorate a tax bill, you must file a personal property proration form with Auditor’s Office before January 16th of the following year. For more information call (803)576-2615.
Primary or Secondary Residence?
- “A motor home, a watercraft, or trailer used for camping and recreational travel that is pulled by a motor vehicle on which the interest portion of indebtedness is deductible pursuant to the Internal Revenue Code as an interest expense on a qualified primary or second residence also is a primary or second residence for purpose of ad valorem property taxation in this State. The fair market value of a motor home, boat or watercraft, or trailer used for camping and recreational travel that is pulled by a motor vehicle classified for property tax purposes as a primary or second residence pursuant to this section must be determined in the manner that motor vehicles are valued for property tax purposes.”
- This law permits owners who claim these personal properties for their secondary residence to pay taxes at the 6% ratio. You must complete an application for secondary residence on personal property at the Auditor’s Office. For more information contact number (803) 576-2600.
Applications for Primary or Secondary Residence
Application for Boat
Application for Camper
Application for Personal Property Proration
Personal Property (Boat/Motor) Proration Form
All airplanes are registered through The Federal Aviation Administration (FAA). The FAA sends a list of all registered owners to the Department of Revenue (DOR), and DOR sends a list to the Auditor’s Office annually. A form is mailed out to registered owners to verify the information that is sent to The Auditor’s Office from DOR. This form has to be completed on or before June 30 of the taxable year.
For more information contact number (803) 576-2615.
Application for Personal Property Proration
Personal Property (Airplane) Proration Form
The Homestead Exemption is a program designed to help the elderly, blind, and disabled. This program exempts the first $50,000 value of your primary home.
AGE- 65 on or before December 31, preceding year of application. If you own real estate jointly with a spouse only one is required to be 65 years of age.
- If property is jointly owned please bring or mail the spouse’s date of birth.
- To apply you will need proof of date of birth (driver’s license or birth certificate).
DISABILITY- You must be totally and permanently disabled: To apply you will need to present documentation from the state or federal agency certifying the disability.
BLINDNESS-Certified by a licensed ophthalmologist, or a letter from the Commission for the Blind.
Either of the aforementioned qualification(s) - age, disability, or blindness - makes one eligible for the exemption.
Questions regarding eligibility status and application procedures should be directed to: (803) 576-2610 or 576-2611.
Exemption for real and personal property
(100% permanently and totally disabled service connected)
A disabled Veteran is entitled to exemption on his or her legal residence and up to one acre of land and exemption from taxes on no more than two vehicles owned or leased by the disabled veteran.
To qualify for the vehicle exemption, the South Carolina Department of Revenue requires that the vehicle be registered solely in the name of the disabled veteran or jointly owned in the name of the disabled veteran and his or her spouse to qualify for the exemption. To apply you will need your qualification letter from the Department of Veteran Affairs and complete form PT-401-I at the SCDOR.
A surviving spouse may continue to use the “V” tag after the death of the disabled veteran so long as the surviving spouse does not remarry; however, the surviving spouse will not be entitled to the exemption.
The surviving spouse will be entitled to reapply for the exemption on the residence unless remarried.
Prisoner Of War (POW)
Any member or former member of the armed forces who was a prisoner of war in World War I, World War II, the Korean Conflict, or the Vietnam War and who is a legal resident of this State. This exemption also extends to the surviving spouse of a qualified former POW for the lifetime or until the remarriage of the surviving spouse.
The Disabled Veteran or Prisoner of War (POW)
must apply with the Department of Veteran Affairs (VA). Once the VA approves the application; the disabled veteran will receive a letter stating that the veteran is 100% permanently disabled. The disabled veteran will then take the letter and fill out a form PT-401-I at the SCDOR, located at 301 Gervais Street, Columbia, South Carolina, and the disabled veteran will be granted their exemption. The disabled veteran will provide proof of exemption from SCDOR to the Auditor’s Office to receive a zero tax bill.
An individual who requires the use of a wheelchair is tax exempt on two personal motor vehicles (owned or leased). Application must be made with the Department of Revenue. Information requested by SCDOR will be a doctor’s statement and completed form PT-401-I at the SCDOR.
Antique Motor Vehicles
Antique motor vehicles are exempt from property tax; “a motor vehicle licensed and registered as an antique motor vehicle pursuant to Article 23, Chapter 3 of Title 56.” These vehicles must be used in exhibition only and at car shows…cannot be driven on the street. This became effective as of June 2006 and this also is not retroactive.
Motor vehicles of nonresident service persons located in South Carolina are not subject to taxation when the vehicles are licensed and registered in South Carolina with the exception of personal property used in trade or business. As of November 2009 the Soldiers & Sailors Relief Act also relieves the spouse from paying personal property tax. A leave and earnings statement must be filed at the Auditor’s Office each year and if the spouse is also on the registration a copy of their dependant military ID must be provided as well. Other dependants that may be included on the registration are not relieved from paying personal property taxes.
Contact South Carolina Department of Revenue at (803) 898-4995 for more information concerning exemption qualifications.